StateScoop announces 2016 winners of StateScoop 50 leadership, program awards

StateScoop's readers cast more than 80,000 votes to select 50 outstanding leaders and programs from hundreds of nominations.

BALTIMORE — The 2016 winners of the StateScoop 50 Awards, which highlight the best and brightest in the state IT community, were announced Wednesday.

The StateScoop 50 awards honor innovators, innovative initiatives and up-and-coming leaders in state and local government.

This year’s recipients were selected by members of the state and local government IT community, in a nationwide voting process. More than 80,000 voters were cast on StateScoop, narrowing down hundreds of readers’ nominations in six categories, to select this year’s StateScoop 50 winners.

“My team and I were delighted by the tremendous number of nominations and votes we received from our readers,” Goldy Kamali, CEO of Scoop News Group — StateScoop’s parent company, said. “We are thrilled to recognize the extraordinary accomplishments and innovations of the top 50 state IT leaders from government and tech who are making meaningful contributions to their organizations and communities.”


The winners were honored with a reception at the Hyatt Regency here during the National Association of State Chief Information Officers midyear conference.

“StateScoop is all about community, and I can’t think of a better way to recognize our community than to highlight these incredible visionary leaders,” Jake Williams, StateScoop’s manager of strategic initiatives, said. “As I’ve gotten to know this class of winners over the last two years, I’ve been inspired by their innovative spirit, mission-driven attitude and dedication to public service.”

Read more about each of the following 2016 StateScoop 50 winners in these six categories:

GoldenGov: State Executive of the Year

  • Jason Allison, CIO, Florida
  • Suma Nallapati, CIO, Colorado
  • Tom Baden, CIO, Minnesota
  • Mark Myers, CTO, Arkansas
  • Karen Jackson, Secretary of Technology, Virginia
  • Hardik Bhatt, CIO, Illinois
  • Dewand Neely, CIO, Indiana
  • Miguel Gamiño, CIO, San Francisco
  • Anne Roest, Commissioner, Dept. of IT & Telecommunications, New York City

State Leadership

  • Scott Gregory, Geographic Information Officer, California
  • Timothy Lee, CISO, Los Angeles
  • Chris Cruz, Chief Deputy Director for Operations, California
  • Lauren Lockwood, Chief Digital Officer, Boston
  • Amy Tong, Acting Director, California Department of Technology
  • Dean Johnson, COO, Georgia Technology Authority
  • Todd Kimbriel, CIO, Texas
  • Amen Ra Mashariki, Chief Analytics Officer, New York City

Industry Leadership

  • Maggie Hallbach, VP, Government & Education, Verizon Enterprise
  • Tim Merrigan, VP, State, Local & Education, VMware
  • Bethann Pepoli, Director, State & Local Government and Education, Splunk
  • John Punzak, National Sales Director, Red Hat
  • Bob Schaar, Segment Solutions Leader, SLED, Hewlett Packard Enterprise
  • Bret Brasso, VP, State, Local and Education, FireEye
  • Crystal Cooper, VP, Public Sector, Unisys

Up & Comer

  • Ed Toner, CIO, Nebraska
  • Todd Nacapuy, CIO, Hawaii
  • Yessica Jones, Deputy Director, Dept. of Information Systems, Arkansas
  • Elizabeth Rowe, Chief Data Officer, New Jersey
  • Archana Vemulapalli, CTO, District of Columbia
  • Eric Ellis, CTO, North Carolina

Innovation of the Year

  • WIC Program, Dept. of Health, Oklahoma
  • AccessDNR Apple Watch App, Dept. of Natural Resources, Maryland
  • Montana Business Checklist, Montana
  • Oregon Ethics’ Filing System, Government Ethics Commission, Oregon
  • NEReg2Vote, Nebraska
  • Gov2Go, Arkansas
  • New Jersey Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Cell, New Jersey
  • Link NYC, New York City
  • Threat Intelligence Portal, Office of Cyber Security, Missouri

State IT Program of the Year

  • Colorado Division of Youth Corrections Computer Labs, Colorado
  • Maryland Comptroller Fraud Detection Model, Dept. of Comptroller, Maryland
  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Data System, MN.IT Services, Minnesota
  • #SFWiFi High Density Enhancements Project, San Francisco
  • Auditor Training Portal, Office of the State Inspector General, Virginia
  • Maine Campground Reservations Service, Dept. of Agriculture, Conservation & Forestry, Maine
  • E-Government Program, Oregon
  • Illinois IT Transformation, Illinois
  • Service Integration Initiative, Georgia
  • Government Data Analytics Center, North Carolina
  • Statewide EIR Accessibility, Texas

Latest Podcasts